Growing

Well we’re back in London after an entire month away… the moths have been having a lovely old time without us and judging by the cobwebs, so have the spiders.  J has been pretty much working solidly for the past 3 weeks so not a lot in the house or garden has been touched for a month.  But he was very pleased to see us all, as were we!

Last week M’s first tooth fell out and I wasn’t allowed to tell J so that she could surprise him on our return, so here’s a picture of the gap…

DSCF2055

Her new tooth is so much bigger and it’s hard to imagine how it will fit into her mouth but I guess she’s got a lot of growing to do.  She’s already grown 2cm in the last month?!

Talking of growing, while we were in Nottingham I devised a 2-week menu for the girls snacks and meals.  So far it’s working well, if only because it means I’m not racking my brains for what to feed them everyday – now I can glance at the menu on the wall.  M was tucking in to raw spinach and Pizza Express dressing for lunch today, we had both forgotten that she liked it!

On the subject of growing (again) while I was gardening I noticed that M’s courgette plant had taken on giant proportions while we were away – check out the scary courgette in the picture below, I’d guess it’s about 25cm long.  I cut off one of the smaller courgettes and asked M if she’d like to try it for dinner – she was really keen!  I sliced it and then M brushed it with oil and ground black pepper over it.  Being a courgette-hater, I tried really hard not to show my disgust but actually she put it in her mouth and said ‘yuk’ then described to me exactly why I don’t like it: ‘it’s all sloppy’. Yes. Yuk. Yuk. Yuk.

DSCF2061

This week I booked the girls in for a gymnastics course at Tolworth Gym Club.  They were very excited about it, D said ‘you’ll be so surprised when you see me on the telly’.  I do wonder how children’s minds work: she must have thought she would be doing gymnastics like we saw on telly last year in the Olympics… Ha ha.  It was more forward rolls and learning how to somersault properly.

I stayed to watch them from a viewing gallery above the gym.  It was hilarious to see D running through her ‘I’m too tired’, ‘I don’t want to’ routine with the gym teachers.  She really doesn’t like being told what to do by anyone, or she claims she is being ‘bossed about’ and won’t do it.  At one point they were supposed to be running up to a block and leaping on to it: D was doing a slow walk with her head hanging down and then a half-arsed step onto the block instead.  Tee hee.  The teacher (a lovely young boy) turned D to face him and they had a little chat then they shook hands and she improved after that! I would love to know what magic words he used…

As for actual ‘school’ work, we’re not starting for a couple of weeks because of various classes and play dates going on.  However, the girls did do a bit off their own back anyway – D has been going water colour crazy and did some lovely rainbow pictures.  She’s done tons of them so when I suggested she paint something different she painted an incredible picture of a conch shell (I think that’s what they’re called: the ones you put to your ear to hear the sea).  I haven’t taken a picture of it yet but here’s one she did in Nottingham – she’s drawn a heart, lungs, diaphragm and wind pipe…

DSCF2073

 

While the girls were getting ready for bed, D started looking at her counting poster: I showed her the tens column and then she read the whole poster from 1 to 100.  I made a big fuss because it’s the first time she’s counted to 100 and she looked so proud of herself!  Then M tried to teach her how to count in 5s and D immediately switched off.  It just goes to show that you can’t force anything on D but she will come to it eventually on her own.

While I was reading D a story this evening, M started on an activity book that a friend let me photocopy – it was given to her by her son’s school and it’s a good mix of fun drawing, reading and writing activities.  M set to on the writing and did some lovely neat lettering.  We looked at what she’d done and talked about which words would come 1st for neatness.

I know my two are quite academic but it still amazes me that they WANT to learn, especially when it’s quite ‘dry’ things like counting and handwriting… I breathe a sigh of relief when we have days like this because I can stop worrying that they’re going to come out of home-ed as a couple of thick-os 🙂

Leave a Reply

