Back on Track

Hey!  We’re back on track!  I got both girls focused on finishing our nutrition project at 9.30am this morning (I know, not very early for most of you out there, but it’s pretty good going for us).  They both got very involved with thinking of their favourite food and finding out what vitamins were in it.  Its done wonders for their view on food: D got cross with me the other day for offering a chocolate reward – she said I should be giving her a banana instead!  And M is forcing broccoli down her throat with a lot less moaning than before.

We stopped for a snack and then the girls had the project finished by 11.30 – our first finished project!!  I would like to go more in-depth with it as we didn’t go into minerals and I would also like to show the girls more about food sources but I think we’ll go into that another time.

Then it was time to go to our HE meet up in Chelsea.  The girls ate their lunch in the car on the way and when we arrived they got straight to work making these cute bugs out of a scrap of fluffy fabric, pipe cleaners, googly eyes and pom-poms.

They played with Bendaroos and playdough for a bit and then it was time for their Crest Science programme.  Today was about cans: the kids had to see if they could figure out what was in an un-labelled can by rolling it.  It was very interesting and something new for me to learn!  Unfortunately D had lost the will to live at this point (she had a bad night’s sleep) so she sat on my knee instead of joining in.

I had the chance to chat with a couple of the other mums today and M made a new friend too.  I’m very pleased for her as I feel she needs some good friendships now that she doesn’t see her best friend from school very often.

Just a few photos from the weekend to show you: J looked after them ALL day on Saturday – first with their Judo class, then some crazy games (fishing for tins of mackerel being one of them), then swimming and then played with them upstairs before putting them to bed.

I got to have a lovely Saturday night in with Strictly, a glass of wine and some chocolate, who could ask for more?

…P.S. If I had more time I would write even longer posts, boring you all to death with the minutiae of our daily lives, but luckily for you I don’t.  I’ve noticed on a few of the American blogs that they list ‘things to be thankful for’, which is just a tad too cheesy for me.  But I would like to put a few notes down in my blog for ‘the little things’: the things that make me laugh; please me; and make me feel so privileged to be home-educating… so here we go:

1. Waking up at 6.30am to see D’s face looming above mine – beaming – telling me she knew what ’25’ looked like.

2. At the Chelsea meet up, seeing M across the room confidently chatting with a mother and her daughter.

3. M begging me to stay and chat after her bedtime story and then asking me what my favourite part of the day was.

Leave a Reply

