Ice Skating and Grumps

Yesterday, J had the morning off work so he took the girls to the park before our Thursday group.  The girls also fitted in quite a bit of Lego, M is constructing a school (!) and D is allowed to help quite a bit.  It’s taken quite a few hours so far and looks very good!

IMAG1323

At our Thursday group the girls made more pomanders and M ran around like a wild child for 2 hours.  D has a bit of a run around but tends to stick close to me at the group.  She is very chatty with everyone, particularly the adults, I just assume she will gain in confidence in time.

When we got back, I dropped them off at their Aunty Sh to have fun with their teenage distant cousins who are over from Australia.  When they returned home they both had their hair plaited and pinned, and make-up and nail varnish on.

This morning I ran around tidying the house, does it look any different?  No.  Don’t know why I bothered.  I like to think that home educating excuses me from having a tidy house anyway: messiness looks more creative.

Today, we left at 11am to drive over to Guildford Spectrum for a home-ed ice skating session.  We’ve been meaning to go for ages but haven’t got around to it for various reasons.  D didn’t want to do it but M was very keen because her friend M would be there.  We arrived at around 12 and M was out on the ice straight away.  She made it all the way around the rink (gripping the sides) on her own.  I didn’t skate, partly because I am hopeless at it, and partly because I had to look after D, but I really felt for M out there – she was so valiant: trying something completely new all on her own and with such perseverance.  Our friends turned up a little later and so she then had company on the rink and went from strength to strength.  I was very impressed with how much she progressed during the 2.5 hours we were there!

D stayed with me, utterly bored and we were both freezing!  She has no desire to try new activities – I’m hoping the fear of it will pass as she grows older.  We read Ant and Bee together (D reads the red words and I read the black).  She was really keen (probably because she realised it was the only entertainment she was going to get!) and read a few black words as well as the red.

M really enjoyed skating and is very keen to go again.  I’m less keen because of the drive to Guildford but I’m sure we can manage it every few weeks or so.

I’ve had a fair amount of grumpiness from M, starting after her bedtime story last night when she asked me to explain a word to her.  There is a general routine to M’s anger where she asks me a question, I answer it, she says she doesn’t understand (in a rising panicky voice) so I try to explain again, then she interrupts my explanation with some angry retort to tell me to stop explaining.  Last night I was too tired to respond like an adult: I just said she was rude and went downstairs without another word.  We’ve had similar routines today.  She’s very bright and most things come easily to her so I know she finds it very hard when she actually doesn’t understand something but its very frustrating for me!

Leave a Reply

