If You Can’t Beat ‘Em…

I’ve been reading quite a bit about unschooling methods recently, courtesy of this website, and I’ve been mulling it over.  I have always been very child-led (co-sleeping, baby-led weaning and now home-ed, to name but a few parenting choices I’ve made along the way), so it would make sense to continue the theme into education.

However, I just can’t get over the feeling that (a) I need to be able to show PROOF of their learning (to husband, family, LEA etc.) and (b) that they should be keeping up with their schooled peers.  Until I get over the fear that they will come out of HE quite thick and nothing to show for it, then I will never be an unschooler.  Not that unschooled children are thick (the ones I’ve met seem very intelligent): It is a fear based on nothing but the ridiculous idea that if I’m not leading their education then they won’t move forward.  I know it is nonsense but the fear is still there.

Maybe unschooling is something I can aim for over time as there is no doubt that both sausages would respond well to it (what child wouldn’t?).

M has not been responding well to parental-led education lately so with unschooling in mind, this week I have only pushed once for some written work from M (D has done reams of the stuff off her own back) and it started well but ended in tears (more of that another time); I have put the telly on whenever it has been requested (D is obsessed with Jake and the Neverland Pirates at the moment); let M play on her new Lego app as long as she wants; let D use her new-found Lego building skills and let them both watch films whenever they want.

The sausages couldn’t be happier, they even seem to be able to self-regulate a bit (D switched the telly off and said she wanted to do something “not on a laptop” and M had a break from playing her Lego app to play an imaginative game with D and is currently working on a puppet show).

But the exercise books are still there, I can seem them out of the corner of my eye as I type, and they are screaming to be used.

I am definitely not ready to be an unschooler… yet.

2 thoughts on “If You Can’t Beat ‘Em…

  1. The LEA has no right to demand that they see proof in a particular format, and your girls are so obviously learning that you would satisfy any requests for evidence simply by showing them this blog! Try not to let the shadowy Authorities scare you, just do what feels right for your family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

