Sausage Potters

Recently it feels like we’ve made a leap from just muddling along through to embracing this home educating lifestyle.  I finally feel like we’re getting somewhere now, and it’s taken a year!

In a few weeks we’ll have hit the one year anniversary of our school run which I remember so well – D was crying because she didn’t want to go to nursery and M didn’t want to go to school either.  I took one look at M’s drawn ashen face and turned the car around and went back home.

After a year of home educating, M has blossomed – her confidence astounds me!  The other day she walked up to a man in shop to ask about what he was selling and where she could find it on the shelves.  This would never have happened a year ago!  D has always been confident talking to anyone but in the last year she just has not wanted to leave the house… until now…

…J and I had a chat recently about unschooling.  In the last year I’ve done a lot of research on home education and more recently on unschooling; I’ve met home educators; and I’ve seen day to day what an effect school had on our daughters.

Now I see daily, in microscopic steps, how much the sausages learn and develop through being unschooled.  And as I see this, my mind begins to de-school and I begin to question our habits in education, eating and general family life.  So my mind has been racing ahead and J, with being at work a lot, has missed out on these tiny shifts until all of a sudden we’re at a different place to where he is.

I think it’s fair to say – and I don’t think he’d mind me saying – that J is old-school.  From the ‘do as I say, not as I do’ school.  What has astounded me about J though – and what sets him apart from your bog-standard old-school man – is how readily he accepts change.  He was reluctant to start home education but was willing to give it a try, and now he embraces it.

So we sat down and had a chat about unschooling, in particular how we need to treat the sausages like little people rather than just children who should do as we say because we are grown-ups!  And all of a sudden, this ‘do as I say’ man has changed into a ‘what would you like to do’ man!!

And it’s amazing also, that if you give the sausages options they will likely do what you want to do anyway, because they’re doing it of their own volition, rather than being forced to.  Such is the mind of a sausage.  So now, J is ASKING them if they would like to go to Judo/the park etc., and D – rather than automatically wanting to stay at home in her pyjamas – wants to go!  It may be a coincidence but I don’t think so.

So, what I was getting around to saying – sorry, waffling on quite a bit there – was that the girls started a pottery class yesterday.  This was a class of their choice, rather than one which we thought would ‘better’ them – and guess what?  They LOVED it!  They were so happy there that I was able to leave them for the last half an hour – it’s the first time they’ve been left since finishing school!

20140520_065028
Rather than wasting time on the school run, D is able to use that time to inform us that the Earth feels flat because it is so large, but it is in fact, round.
6 thoughts on “Sausage Potters

  1. It’s interesting to know that you have changed your teaching position over the year. My eldest is in Reception but we have a flexi contract that starts imminently, my youngest are twins, and I really think would suit an unschoolinb approach. I know 100% what you mean about your partner! I seem yo immerse myself in the research of both education and parenting, and we seem to leave him catching up to our new position, but I am also blessed that though he has a very traditional English upbringing, he’s embraced the craziness in our lives!

    Like

    1. Personally I would have gone with a semi-structured approach for home-ed but unschooling suits the girls, particularly M, so much more. My youngest never went to school so she hasn’t had to de-school at all – she’s so free with her attitude to learning! Best of luck to you with your home-ed – I think you’ll find it’s a wonderful way of life 🙂

      Like

  2. You seem to have found the right approach for your girls and isn’t it wonderful about the pottery class? You must feel so proud of them both.
    It takes a while to find the method that suits you but through trial and error you suddenly realise that everyone is happily learning away and it is a great feeling. I used to try to categorise our learning style but I think the nearest I can come to a description now is eclectic – some days we are all out structured yet the next we are autonomous. It is whatever works for you and I think you have cracked it:)
    Thanks so much for linking up this week to the #homeedlinkup

    Like

  3. So pleased to hear about your children’s rise in confidence.
    It’s a year since we took our boys out of school, and I have seen a similar relaxation in them.
    I think I am a bit like your husband, slowly learning how to trust the children more. It’s sometimes a bit scary to bring the boys up differently to the way in which my patents raised me, but my boys are different people and the calmer approach really helps them.
    Looking forward to reading more about your home educating journey.

    Like

    1. I think it’s a steep learning curve for anyone who home educates isn’t it? I feel like I’ve learnt and changed so much in the last year. Isn’t it amazing how children expand your horizons! Your blog is great, looking forward to reading more 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

