Life Got In The Way

Sorry for the lack of posts recently but life got in the way!  We’ve only been doing the usual activities but my evenings have been spent doing other activities (reading Kids, Carrots and Candy, for one) and I have been decorating our hallway and landing every weekend for the past six or so weeks (nearly finished, but starting on kitchen next).

Our days have been spent in our usual routines.  I do wonder how I ever did semi-structured home-ed as again, life seems to get in the way!

Lots of cards to various friends and family members are frequently being written and drawn (as I write they are both beavering away preparing cards for our builder who is here today).

20140623_122507

The girls continue to enjoy their weekly pottery class in Clapham.  D brought home her first creations last week and here’s a photo of them.  The bottom piece is a comet!  The teacher was praising them both last week, particularly commenting that D is wonderful at story telling as she works.  I have a feeling that for D it is all about the process whereas for M it is all about the end result (chalk and cheese as usual :)).

20140623_164135

With our unschooling approach to the girls’ education, they are given a free reign to play as long as they like on computers and watch as much telly as they like too.  M’s particular favourite game at the moment is Minecraft which she is probably spending 1-2 hours a day on.  D is also quite interested in it and M is very generous with her time: advising her sister how best to build things and ideas on what to do next.  They both prefer the ‘creative’ rather than ‘survival’ game as it’s a bit less stressful!

20140623_200418

Our unschooling approach has already spilled over into food, which is why I’m reading ‘Kids, Carrots and Candy’.  I’m learning to ask if they are ‘hungry’ rather than ‘what would you like for dinner?’;  We don’t have meal times anymore – they eat only when they are hungry; and they can eat ANYTHING (within reason, I’m not going to start making Bolognese at 6am) at ANY time of day.  They are learning to recognise when they are hungry and what their body is asking for.  I am also learning to listen to my body too!  For the past two days my body has asked for a fresh fruit smoothie rather than dinner and it has been extremely satisfying to give it what it’s asking for!

So far I have resisted letting the unschooling approach spill over into bedtimes (i.e., letting them decide when to go to bed) because I value my alone time in the evening so much.  I only get half an hour to an hour in the evening anyway but it is very precious to me!  However, you’ll see in the previous picture that it is rather dark and the two sausages are refusing to go to bed because they are doing something ‘extremely important’.  When they are playing so nicely together it seems a shame to spoil their fun!

We went to Garson’s Farm a few days ago and met our friends there from  3 Kids and a Gluestick.  The girls especially loved picking raspberries and strawberries but the heat got too much for them eventually and we had to leave earlier than planned.

20140624_103534

M has decided to continue doing ballet classes with her school friend, T, and they’re currently rehearsing for a show in October of Alice in Wonderland. D decided she didn’t want to do ballet after all so she sits with me and does an activity book while the class is on.

We’ve been to D’s swimming class (M didn’t even want to get in the water this week so it was a short visit) and D swam her first length unaided!!  M and I were whooping and punching the air on the side :).

One of the many perks of HE is that you can get discounted entry rates to most attractions.  So yesterday, J took the day off work and we all went to Legoland!  We had such a lovely day and the weather was perfect.

20140626_122950

There have been lots going on inbetween all this of course, including chess; draughts; making a clock; drawing; learning about the world; learning about mucus in ‘The Sound of Mucus’; reading book 2 of ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’; listening to The Enormous Crocodile and Matilda audio books in the car; watching various films including The Artist, Tinkerbell & The Pirate Fairy, Peter Pan and Coraline; and playing outside in the garden!

20140625_065656 20140627_122806

7 thoughts on “Life Got In The Way

  1. That sounds like a lovely few days! I really like the pottery pieces. Minecraft is popular in this house too, and we’re off to Legoland next week 😀

    Like

  2. Your tone has changed – you seem so positive and content which is absolutly wonderful. Un-schooling really seems to suit you all – you seem to write with an air of peace about you:)
    The pottery is beautiful, so delicate and I could tell before I read that it wa a comet.
    I couldn’t do the food thing. I must admit that it’s one meal fits all here, plenty of veg no sulking allowed lol. I admire your commitment to this – I couldn’t do it:)
    I’m really happy that everyone seems so happy. That’s the way it should be.
    Thanks so much for linking up to this weeks #homeedlinkup

    Like

    1. Thank you! I can’t say I feel totally at peace with it yet (I still struggle with some aspects, particularly the lack of written work) but I’m getting there. It helps that I have total faith that they know what’s best for them! The food part is easy in comparison 🙂

      Like

  3. Lucy, I’m so happy to have found you. We have gradually been moving towards unschooling, too. My son plays hours of computer games a day (and he also plays outside, and pretend games and with friends etc). I am a bit of a wuss about mentioning that on my blog so it is very refreshing to come over here and see how well things are working for you!

    Like

    1. Ahh, I’m sure you’re not a wuss! It does take a lot of courage to ‘come out’ as an unschooler though – I hope you get there soon. I LOVE your blog – I’m so pleased to have found someone with a similar child to mine 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

