A Week in the Life of a Home Educating Family: Monday

This blog is generally very ‘warts and all’ as I find it helps me to process the ups and downs if I write it down.  It’s also good for me to look back on old posts and see how far we’ve progressed in de-schooling.  But, lately I haven’t been posting very detailed posts because I just haven’t had the time and it can also start to feel quite repetitive.

Recently, I read  Navigating By Joy’s ‘Week in the Life of a British Homeschooling Family’ where Lucinda journalled her family’s day for 5 days.  I loved reading the details of their day to day lives, especially as it wasn’t glossed over!  So I thought I would have a go at doing the same myself…

I’ve held off doing this for a while because each week something non-typical has been going on (guests, illness, visits to my parents’, etc) but I’ve come to realise that there will never be a typical week. or a ‘perfect’ one.  So without further ado, here is Monday’s post…

7.30am

I wake up late with D and we come downstairs and chat to our new bunnies while I put the kettle on.  We got them a few days ago and while they’re still quite shy, their personalities are already shining through: Morris (a buck, the lighter one) is into everything, nibbling things and is very inquisitive – he hates being picked up and held on a lap; while Dusty (a doe) is much more reserved and cautious but is quite happy to be on M’s lap for a stroke.

20141124_093248

D then wants to do the World Map jigsaw but we get diverted when she asks what the seven seas are (turns out it’s just an ancient term that is no longer relevant) and then where poo is before it gets to your bowel.  She’s a big Googler is D, the other day she asked to Google what snot bubbles feel like…  D played on the Tiny Bop Human Body app for a while: giggling every time she made the body burp or trump.

8.30am

M comes downstairs and immediately wants to get the bunnies out, so we do.  I clean out the cage while they hop about on the kitchen floor.  Meanwhile, D watches Dora the Explorer on Netflix.  It’s a little more babyish (and perhaps even more irritating?!) than Go Diego Go but she’s still learning lots from it.

9.30am

M then begins setting out our new Monopoly board, but I need to get them out of their pyjamas early today (not early by most people’s standards!).  It takes a lot of encouragement to get them dressed but I have errands to run so they don’t have a lot of choice.  It takes so long to get dressed that we then need snacks (and a coffee) before setting off.

11.30am

We go out to post some parcels at the Post Office (cue M asking why coins don’t stay shiny), then onto Tesco’s (fun at the checkout beeping the the barcodes through) and then onto a pet shop to get some supplies for the bunnies.  They’ve both had enough of shops at this point so I quickly choose what we need and we head home.

1.30pm

We’re home but we only have half an hour to have some lunch and get out of the house again to drive to pottery.  It takes us half an hour to drive there and on the way we listen to an audio book (Holly the Christmas Fairy) and discuss whether the girls want to continue pottery after Christmas.  M decides that she would like to carry on, whereas D would like to just pop in occasionally (not really doable at £70 a term!) so I suggest she has a rest from it for a term and see if she wants to start again at Easter, which she is happy to do.  They both run in to pottery and I sit in the car for an hour and catch up with the HE groups on Facebook.

3.30pm

On the way home, M is a bit out of sorts (this is not unusual after social outings) and it turns out that she has a sore throat.  We’re all quite quiet in the car but we do discuss whether it would be a good idea to start a project together in the new year – I tell them that I miss learning something altogether around the table and M said that she does too so we may start a France lapbook soon.

4.30pm

When we get home, both girls sit under blankets on the sofa and watch new episodes of Peter Rabbit while munching on snacks.  I close the curtains and put the Christmas lights on and it feels very cosy and calm.  M is feeling too poorly to play with the bunnies so I let them hop around the kitchen while I clean and make dinner.  Morris is over the moon to be out and does little leaps of joy which are very cute!

7.30pm

M slopes into the kitchen looking poorly but wanting something to do (she is a definite night-owl and she pretty much ‘wakes up’ at 7pm every day) so we play Monopoly until bedtime.  I’m absolutely amazed that I manage to explain the rules to M without her getting angry. 🙂

8pm

We go upstairs, the girls get changed and I read a Rainbow Magic book to D then Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire to M.

9pm

I go downstairs leaving D watching Dora on the iPad and M snuggling down and looking quite poorly.

11pm

After doing a bit of emailing and online Christmas shopping, I’m exhausted (J has beaten me to it and is already asleep) and I’m going to bed.  I come up to find the bedroom light on and M is fast asleep looking very hot and flushed.  D has obviously fallen asleep while watching Dora as it’s still playing on the iPad.  I remove the iPad off the bed and crawl in between them both.

5 thoughts on “A Week in the Life of a Home Educating Family: Monday

  1. A packed day! I hope M feels better, and it hasn’t turned into anything worse. I’m intrigued by the logistics of you all sharing a bed – is it an unusually large one? I share my single with a cat and it’s cramped enough, never mind several other people, even in a double!

    Like

    1. M’s on the mend today, thanks May. We have a super-king size bed with a camp-bed for M alongside. I think in a couple of years the bed will be too small for D to be in it but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it! I have co-slept since M was 2 days old, she was a fretful and jumpy baby at night but she slept so much better once she was by my side.

      Like

      1. I love the idea of co-sleeping in theory, I think it’s much less stressful for everyone, but I am such a space hound (that conjures up images of canine astronauts but you know what I mean!) that I’d probably not cope. An along-side bed is a nice compromise 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so pleased you’re sharing your week, Lucy! I know what you mean about there not being a “typical” week. The first year I did it I was joining in someone else’s linkup and now I’m quite pleased to be “locked” into a specific week which I shall try to share each year now. (Who knows what we’ll be doing that week next year? This week we’re at Center Parcs!)

    I like how you’ve noted down some of the great questions your girls ask. It’s amazing how much learning happens when we’re just spending time together doing everyday things.
    I’m looking forward to reading about the rest of your week. I hope M feels better tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

