Amazing Artistry

I feel like my head is so full and busy lately.  Usually I use this blog to clear my mind but I haven’t been able to untangle all the thoughts going through my head to do so.

The majority of my thoughts are regarding M’s suspected ASD.  We were rejected from the multi-disciplinary team because they don’t deal with ASD anymore.  Our GP then referred us to CAMHS instead who rejected us for the most LUDICROUS reasons:

  1. They don’t do assessments just because a parent asks for them (wtf? Why shouldn’t a parent have the authority to request an assessment?!)
  2. The list of symptoms I had provided weren’t enough proof of ASD (duh – I had seen all the symptoms in Tony Attwood’s book!)
  3. They needed further evidence from school (Again, duh.  Firstly, if they had actually read my evidence then they would have known that we home educate.  Secondly, M hid all her ASD symptoms from school so further evidence would have been impossible to obtain!)

Can you tell I’m slightly narked by this?  I am still wondering about sending a scathing letter in reply but I haven’t got the mental energy right now.  Besides, if CAMHS are this stupid and ignorant, what’s the likelihood of being taken seriously at an assessment?

So the upshot of all this is that we’ve decided to approach an NHS Consultant Paediatrician who also does private work.  She comes with lots of good recommendations so I’m full of hope.

Meanwhile, I am trying to marry up ASD strategies with our unschooling perspective.  Thanks to some wonderfully supportive and informative people on an unschooling Facebook group, I’ve found Son-Light.  It’s a totally unique approach to Autism which, although it’s been around for a few decades, is still pretty radical.  I like radical.  I’m halfway through the book and so far nearly all of it is sitting very well with me.

I’m on a very steep learning curve and I’m trying not to feel overwhelmed by it all!

In other news…

We’ve been enjoying the spring weather…

20150312_112956_2

M is still very into Animal Crossing: yesterday she was petitioning residents!  D hasn’t been on the computer very much, but she’s done a little Minecraft, Numberjacks Mission to Learn and Teach Your Monster to Read.

20150306_092026

D is still very much enjoying dressing up as a princess.  She made herself an orb like Elsa’s from Frozen the other day!

20150313_093524

 

D has really impressed me with how much she has concentrated on tasks lately: she copied some complicated Hama bead designs; designed some clothes for her paper doll; played for well over an hour with Anna from Frozen’s ice hand; and made lots and lots of ‘sewn’ constellation cards.

20150309_072847 20150311_121430 20150318_182744 20150319_172539

 

However, she did struggle at our latest outing: we were lucky enough to get last minute tickets to go to the Royal Albert Hall with a group of other HEers to see Classical Spectacular.  It really was spectacular!  M adored it – she loved the music, the lights, the fireworks and the loud cannons that boomed at the end.  This photo doesn’t really do it justice.

20150320_142700

 

M has been spending a lot of time perfecting some Frozen figures that she wants to make into puppets.  I am quite in awe of her drawing of Elsa.  She’s 8!  8!

20150314_101010

 

We have continued to enjoy our new local HE group:

20150313_135808 20150318_124209_13

And finally, I’ll end with D’s Van Gogh masterpiece!  Isn’t it incredible?!  She’s 5!  5!

20150317_131858

6 thoughts on “Amazing Artistry

  1. I for one like your narkiness and wish to fight for your child. I hate how you have to fight when you want a child assessed to help them move forwards, a battle I am familiar with and still fighting. You inspire me and keep me keen on the home education lark

    Like

    1. Thank you very much, Kate! I don’t know why it has to be a battle. It’s disappointing not to be believed by ‘health officials’, particularly when they appear to be so ignorant in their own profession. I am on my 3rd book regarding ASD and I honestly had the feeling I knew more about Aspergers than them!! Tsk.

      Like

    1. I’ve only read a few chapters so far but what I’ve read is that you’re ‘joining’ them in their autistic world, rather than stopping them from doing what they need to do (i.e. stim) in order to *appear* normal. It’s focussed on building up a relationship with the child and then gently drawing them out into ‘our world’. It’s very interesting and bizarre that it still appears to be ‘radical’ when it seems so natural to me!

      Like

  2. Love the art. Amazing. We are only just discovering Hama beads in our house. Luckily we have a dustpan and brush specifically for sweeping up small bricks and beads. I’m enjoying reading your posts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

