Water, Judo and Films

We had a fantastic water-splashy time at our weekly social group, Curious Minds.  The girls are beginning to feel more settled there and M looks forward to it all week!

20150703_123210

We were back at the scout hut again today, but this time for the girls’ Judo class.  Today they were being graded and so I thought I would pop along too (I usually use the time to relax or do cleaning).  It was so full on!  I think M found her match in a boy who is equally as strong and skilled as she is; and D had a few bumps but bravely soldiered on.

20150704_103321 20150704_103527

They both passed their grading test and D now has 3 stripes on her red belt while M moves up to an orange belt!

We’ve been dipping our toes into film making over the past few days, following on from a question from M in the car about how long it takes to make a film.  This led to looking at special effects on Harry Potter: including Mrs Weasley’s knitting needles (not CGI but an amazing little machine!), quidditch and Voldemort’s nose.  Which then led to looking at a real-life invisibility cloak.  We’re probably watching 2-3 films a day and there is soooo much learning arising from it.

In other news, the same day I published my ‘rainbows and unicorns‘ post, M had a tearful/angry meltdown.  The space between meltdowns have definitely lengthened, to the extent that I begin to wonder if she has Aspergers at all.  These meltdowns leave me feeling very helpless as she can’t be soothed with a hug and a chat as I could with D.  To me, the reasons for the meltdowns are ridiculous (hair getting on her nerves/unable to complete a puzzle/too hot) but to her the problems must feel enormous and insurmountable.  This meltdown was a timely reminder as she has her ASD assessment in two weeks time.  I’m feeling a little nervous about it but mostly looking forward to it: it will be a relief to be listened to, get some answers and move forward with it.  M seems nonchalant about the appointment but that may mean there is stuff simmering underneath that she isn’t showing me yet…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Water, Judo and Films

  1. Lucy, have you thought about sensory processing issues? The Sensory Smart Child in Walton-on-Thames has info and does assessments. We had Jasper privately assessed but I think you can get NHS referrals too.

    Also, we as a family have been getting a lot out of PowerWood recently – OE is another one to consider, especially when no diagnosis seems to fit perfectly. I helped write this PowerWood flyer about OE recently (hopefully attaching a dropbox link to the document!) Feel free to email me if you want any other info.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/aka3faqxyje6crn/AAAZ_Mpv7S7pihTtiyqjepSga?dl=0

    http://www.thesensorysmartchild.com/

    http://www.powerwood.org.uk

    Like

    1. Thanks for the info, Lucinda! I will have a look through your links. I think it could be SPD, it could be ADD, it could be HFA… there are so many overlaps amongst all of them it is hard to untangle them all and figure out what her issues actually are! The lady we’re going to see in a couple of weeks seems to know her stuff so I have high hopes she’ll be able to point us in the right direction. OE is one I haven’t come across before so I shall be reading with interest x

      Like

Leave a Reply

