Maths and Cocooning

Our half term week has continued as it began – slowly and peacefully… sort of.

I can never get over how we seem to be doing so little but under the surface we’re actually doing quite a lot!

On Wednesday, J took the girls to the park in the morning and in the afternoon their friend B came over to play.  They began with Minecraft and then finished with a game of football in the garden. 🙂

20160217_093222

On Thursday I gave up all hope of going out and mentally prepared myself for another day indoors.  D is definitely cocooning – I like that word, it sounds much more legitimate than needing a pyjama day!  The girls spent the day doing Minecraft, listening to ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets’ on Audible, and playing on their homemade boat.

2016-02-16 19.43.39

Another reason for the quiet day indoors on Thursday was because we had booked to go to a maths workshop at Curious Minds (our usual social group) on Friday.  We haven’t been to Curious Minds yet this year: by the end of last year, M had stopped playing with the other kids (she’ll play with them on separate play dates, but she just didn’t seem to want to play in a group) and D’s best friend stopped attending so D no longer wanted to go, so that sealed it for us really!  I can’t say we’ve felt lacking socially as we’ve had plenty of play dates to compensate but I have missed that ‘anchor’ to my week.  However, I feel sure that they’ll want to give it another go soon as we have a lot of happy memories there.

Anyway, back to the maths workshop – a lady had been brought in to Curious Minds to do a workshop that she does in schools, it was basically getting maths concepts across to the kids using balloons and bubbles.  It was a tad long (6 hours) and the lady rather ‘schooly’ but M really enjoyed it and stayed for the full day!  It was the opposite of fun for D though but she was really brilliant and played with friends outside for hours and hours.

2016-02-19 11.13.28 2016-02-19 13.46.26 2016-02-19 14.18.02 2016-02-19 15.18.29-1

After a few recent class-type learning experiences, I think M might be wanting to try a regular class in something, which I will have to start looking into.  She really seems to get a lot out of that environment.  D on the other hand, has no wish to learn from anyone who is telling her what to do: all these people get the same label – “bossy”.  Her learning is very much self-directed, which is absolutely fine by me.

4 thoughts on “Maths and Cocooning

  1. I love the idea of cocooning! I definitely have a little cocooner in my house too 🙂 The world is so much about going places and keeping busy, but I think cocooning can be a very creative process. – it is for me anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

