Felting, Jigsaws and Mind Maps

We’ve had a lovely summer so far, lots of lovely sunny seaside days in Whitby and afterwards 10 days spent in Nottingham with my parents.  The girls were in heaven – lots of grandparent-time, cousin-time and of course, Minecraft. 😉

M has been busy with her new interest – hand-felting!  M and I were lucky enough to be able to go to an HE felting workshop while we were in Nottingham and we both love it.  It’s so easy and rewarding as it doesn’t take long to build up your competence and it’s peaceful too.  It involves stabbing at wool with a sharp needle so you do need to concentrate though ;).  D has had a go at it but after one too many stabs at her fingers she’s decided to have a break from it for now.  This is what M made after a few hours work:

2016-08-04 13.41.03

There have been a lot of ‘I’m bored’ comments from M over the last few weeks – sometimes it’s because she’s confused and she’s actually hungry (!) but mostly I think it’s a reflection of her needing more stimulus.  Both my Mum and I approached her to ask whether she felt she needed more stimulation, to which she replied ‘no’.  But after further probing it turned out she didn’t know what stimulation meant…  We were struggling to think of things she wanted to do so I came up with the idea of brainstorming all of her interests and I drew out a mind map for her which she loves:

2016-08-14 17.06.16

I don’t think she realised how many interests she has!  I’m hoping it will help clarify our thoughts when the ‘I’m bored’ comments come around again.

We also have the Boredom Jar which I have been working on recently.  I still have many more slips of paper to add but M loves using it.

2016-08-14 17.07.15

I don’t think I ever hear ‘I’m bored’ from D – whereas M dips her toes into many many things, D finds one and fully immerses herself in it for months.  As you may have guessed recently, her latest is Minecraft.  She plays it in creative mode (she’s scared of mobs on survival mode) and for her it’s an outlet for playing, telling stories, making costumes/skins  for her character (her latest was an outfit made to look like a slice of bacon) and creating structures, buildings, anything really.  She also watches a lot of YouTube – she still loves Stampy but as she has now watched every video he’s ever made (!) she has moved on to Sqaishey, Amy Lee 33, Stacey Plays and DanTDM.

It will be interesting to see how balancing the girls’ needs plays out over the coming months.  Saying that, home life has recently become easier: YouTube can be quite invasive (D doesn’t want to wear her headphones all day) and M struggled with it being on all the time, but now she seems to feel more comfortable being in other rooms – currently we have an ongoing game of Monopoly in the front room and she’s working on a drawing competition on the kitchen table.  I just have to make sure I divide up my presence around the house so neither girl feels ignored!  Doing more activities outside the house will be interesting – hopefully if I plan the right things and prepare D enough then she’ll be able to cope with it…

I booked the TV in yesterday so I could watch one of my all-time favourite films – The Prisoner of Zenda!  As usual I had to narrate pretty much the entire film so that the girls understood the plot; D was fretting about how bad the baddies would be and whether the goodies would win; and M was bordering on anger as she tried to understand every intricate plot detail. But bearing in mind neither of them had to watch it, they both watched the entire thing and enjoyed it so hurrah for that!

M and I have also been enjoying a jigsaw app called Magic Puzzles – I’ve just started on Renoir’s ‘Dance at Le Moulin de la Galettet’ and we had quite a long conversation about it last night: admiring details, colours and the scene itself.

2016-08-15 06.15.01

And I have also put up a Europe and UK map in the bedroom, which has sparked a few conversations on the British Empire, distances and past holidays.

2016-07-17 18.30.55

I love how the girls learn through these snippets of conversations 🙂

Leave a Reply

