Old and New

Busy busy busy.  Too busy to write a blog and too tired to squeeze it into the hour I have to myself before the girls get up in the morning.  I don’t know what’s wrong with me – I keep waking up at crazy o’clock: 4, 5 in the morning?!!  What is that about?

I keep swinging between giving up this blog but then I love looking back over old posts.  This week D said she wanted to grow her hair as long as M’s and I remembered that 2 years ago M’s hair was short as D’s so I showed them both September 2014‘s blog posts.  They really inspired M to go back to some old activities – she tried the Alchemy app again, made gloop and iced cakes.

So that was the old stuff.  The new stuff was flying a kite!  We went to Camber Sands for a day trip on Wednesday and it was glorious.

2016-09-14-11-42-59 2016-09-14-13-49-35 2016-09-14-15-12-41

We had a recovery day on Thursday and M and I played an ongoing game of Monopoly, and D got back to Stampy/Sqaishey/Amy Lee/DanTDM.  D also did a very cute ‘secret’ picture for M.  There was garden play and testing out our new ‘Mood Maker’ nail varnish, which changes colour according to temperature.

2016-09-12-17-41-44 2016-09-13-10-50-07 2016-09-13-18-38-41

On Friday, we had friends over to play – there was Minecraft, Terraria and chase games in the garden.

In Minecraft land, D’s creativity knows no bounds.  At the moment her skin is a colourful version of Sqaishey Quack’s, and as Sqaishey’s favourite food is pumpkin pie, she built an enormous one for her to live in, along with a large Sqaishey bending over to eat it. 😀

2016-09-16-08-22-29

M has been working through the Great Fire of London Minecraft map: she has quite enjoyed it but at the moment is preferring to  work on her own worlds.  There’s been lots more redstone work: D creating secret doors and M creating colour changing beacons.  It really is beyond me!  D asks me to play with her in Minecraft quite a lot (even J has had a go too – D was in hysterics because he was so bad at it): sometimes I have to do a parkour course she’s created for me and sometimes she wants me to help her build something and sometimes we play chase – we run round and round hitting each other and I always lose. 🙂

M has started a pottery class – the same one she went to two years ago.  She’s working on a little pot with really intricate details.  She is also back at Brownies – the leader has told her she can stay until Easter which is wonderful news as she really doesn’t want to leave when she’s 10 in January.

Lastly, I went to ‘A Day with Sandra Dodd’ on Sunday – the first unschooling conference I’ve ever been to, the first time I’ve been in contact with loads of unschoolers and the first time I’ve met Sandra Dodd in person!  She was really inspiring and really good speaker.  I was also lucky enough to meet a blogger friend in person and make other new friends too – I absolutely loved it and hope it’s repeated next year.

6 thoughts on “Old and New

  1. Nooo! Don’t give up your blog Lucy, I always read it! I feel like I don’t have time to blog but I use Instagram to document our unschooling life and find that’s a lot quicker and easier. I love Sandra Dodd, I wish I’d known about the conference! How did you find out about it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kerry! Glad you’re enjoying my blog. I think I’ll make a decision in the next few months as to whether to continue or not… I found about the conference through the UK radical unschooling Facebook group – it was advertised on there.

      Like

  2. I really like your blog too! I’m shamefully bad at commenting on blogs but I love reading posts 🙂 Camber Sands is really near us now, although we’ve not been yet. Looks nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely understand how you feel about blogging, Lucy. Sometimes it just feels like one thing to many in a busy unschooling week, doesn’t it? I like looking back on mine, too, though. We often look back on some of the science activities we did, in particular. Sometimes Jasper’s forgotten them because he was so young, and we do them again.

    It was really lovely meeting you in person on Sunday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

